Crochet

Crochet

These are bumblebees I crocheted. Crochet is kind of like knitting but you only use one crochet hook.To make make it wider or more narrow you increase or decrease the number of stitches . An increase is when you put two stitches in one stitch to make it wider than it already is. A decrease is when you do one stitch in two stitches. You usually do decreases and increases when you are doing amigurumi. Amigrumi is referring to 3D things when you crochet, such as animals. An example of stuff that are not amigrumi are scarfs, blankets, and cloths. Some of the amigrumis that I made are bumblebees,  caterpillars, frogs and more. When you crochet animals you can add eyes. You can sew them on with some thread or you can get safety eyes. With safety eyes, you just put the back on the eye so it doesn’t fall out. Below is some safety eyes in stuffing with the backs of the eyes next to them.

There are also different stitches like single crochet, double crochet and half double crochet. In different places half double crochet is sometimes called treble crochet or triple because your go from three to one loops on your crochet hook but here we call it a half double crochet. There is also a slip stitch witch is commonly used when you finish a row.

One thing you use in every project is yarn. The different thickness and thinness of the yarn are really important too. Depending on how thin or thick your yarn is the project you are making will turn out bigger or smaller. If your yarn is thicker than you will need a bigger crochet hook. If the yarn is thinner than you will need a smaller crochet hook. It could also be flipped around.  For the bumblebees at the top I used a 4.00mm crochet hook size. And for the caterpillar I used a 5.00mm crochet hook. There are so many different sizes of crochet hooks. Usually I use smaller sizes. You can do any color of yarn to make a project

 

Written by:

3 Comments

  1. 31janeeg
    10/14/2022
    Reply

    I loved your post. I like those bumble bees you made. Now I’m going to try to Crochet my self.😄

  2. 31sebit
    10/14/2022
    Reply

    I think crocheting is fun. I learned that you crochet with yarn. I liked that you can make a lot of animals out of yarn

  3. 89fitzpatrick
    10/14/2022
    Reply

    I love these! You do a great job describing the craft and the pictures you include are perfect. My daughter and I had fun crocheting some of these, but we did nothing like your adorable caterpillar!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *